Alykes: Beautiful sandy beach with a few trees.
Megali Ammos: A quiet beach with a beautiful landscape and a view over the rocky islets Drenia.
Agios Georgios: Splendid beach with sand and clear waters. There is a restaurant.
Karagatsia: Very quiet beach.
Kalopigado: Small lovely beach.
Nisakia: Tiny, quiet beaches on the northeast side of the island.
⇠ Thessaloniki 119km (to Tripiti port)
⇠ Polygyros 57km (to Tripiti port)
This is the only island in Halkidiki with a permanent population since its formation. About 600 people arrived as refugees from Asia Minor after the catastrophe. Until 1925 Ammouliani was a dependency of the Vatopediou Monastery of Mt. Athos; two or three monks lived here to administer the monastery’s estates. The island has a surface area of 4.5km. There are hotels here, as well as rented rooms
and studios, camping sites, picturesque tavernas (serving fresh fish), cafes, bars, night clubs, supermarkets, etc. The island has wonderful beaches with picturesque bays. It can be reached by ferry from Tripiti and lies just two nautical miles from the coast.
• The majestic church of Agios Nikolaos, built in 1865 on the island’s central square.
• The old shipyard or “Arsanas” is an important landmark of Ammouliani. It is a typical example of the distinctive architecture of Mount Athos, where the monks used to shelter their boats when the weather would not allow them to sail safely.
• The building of the old school (the oldest school in Halkidiki, dating back to 1871).
✓ can’t miss this!
The most beautiful beaches of the island are Alikes, Megali Ammos, Ai Giorges,
Karagatsi, Faka, Tsaska, Nisakia
The beach of the homonymous village is enormous and sandy. It has restaurants, taverns and cafeterias.
⇠ Thessaloniki 124km ⇠ Polygyros 50km
The main town of the municipal district of Aristotelis and one of the largest market towns in Halkidiki, Ierissos stands on the site of ancient Akanthos, a colony of settlers from Andros, and was first inhabited in prehistoric times. Its modern name is derived from the Latin ericius. It was a member of the Athenian Alliance. The town was burned down by the Ottomans in the 1821 uprising. The prytaneum of ancient Akanthos can be seen at the Ierissos archaeological site, and the Krounas tower is an impressive sight to visit. Modern Ierissos is a well-equipped resort, an ideal destination for unforgettable holidays.
• The ruins of the castle and the Byzantine church: The only visible trace of Akanthos is a section of the ancient wall which has been excavated on the east side of the acropolis.
• The Tower of Krouna, approx. 2km west of Ierissos. It had a Byzantine fortification which protected the property.
• On the road to Nea Roda you will pass the Ierissos boatyards, where they build and repair fishing and leisure craft using traditional methods. Only timber is used and the skills are not formally taught but passed on from generation to generation.
• The dependency (metochion) of the Life-Bearing Spring, which belongs to the Monastery of Hiliandary.
• In May 2005 the town constructed an aquarium, where visitors can see a variety of fish and shellfish from the local waters, including gildhead, mullet, perch and lobster. The 40 cubic metre tank contains sea water continually renewed by a special pump connected to the sea.
• The amphitheatre and the Cultural Center are unique in Greece and project stereoscopic- 3D movies on a curved screen, housing also lots of exhibitions of great cultural interest.
✓ can’t miss this!
Walking through the bay of Ierissos you will locate the beach Kakoudia. Its main characteristic is some relief rocks which adorn its waters and sand.
Sikia - Kriaritsi: Splendid sandy beach in a beautiful landscape with a view over the islets Skepes, Ahinoi and Petalida.
⇠ Thessaloniki 152km ⇠ Polygyros 90km
One of the oldest villages in Halkidiki, and formerly known as Logos, once belonged to the Megisti Lavra Monastery -according to Athonite documents. There are various explanations of how the village came to be called Sykia. The first explains the name as meaning the ‘shadow (skia) of Athos’; the second interprets it as a corruption of Singos, name of an ancient city in the vicinity, and the third claims there was once an ancient fig tree (sykias) in the center of the village. This is a traditional village, with narrow streets and quaint old houses. There are rooms to be rented in Sykia and the surrounding area, as well as camping sites and tavernas much prized for their local meat dishes.
• The old quarter of Sykia, where many neighborhoods remain as they were in the middle of the 19th century.
• The Church of Agios Athanasios, dating from 1819, which was twice burned down. Next to it you can admire the remains of the old school, built in 1870.
• On nearby Koukos Hill are the remains of a castle; excavations has shown that the area had been inhabited since the 11th century BC.
• The windmills on the long sandy beach of Sykia, built around the middle of the 19th century.
• The ruins of the church in Episkopi, a 20 minute walk south of Sykia.
✓ can’t miss this!
Swim at the amazing beaches of Kriaritsi and Kalamitsi.
Α Sandy beach, with small fishing settlement, surrounded by pine-trees. It has restaurants, bars and facilities for water sports.
⇠ Thessaloniki 81km ⇠ Polygyros 19km
A seaside resort with hotels offering amazing sea view, rented rooms, tavernas, bars, mini-markets and shops.
The village’s four kilometre long beach. The pine forest and the olive trees reach all the way down to the beach.
✓ can’t miss this!
Taste the olives and the honey made from the local producers.
Sandy beaches with fine pebbles and rich vegetation, a European Blue Flag holder, Leptokarya is situated on the edge of Olympus. Supervised and safe, it is suitable not only for families but also for every category of visitor.
It is near the settlement of Paleia Leptokarya and Ancient Livithra, site of the tombs of the mythical Orpheus and the Monastery of Kanalon (12th century).
Particularly during the summer months there is an excellent tourist infrastructure, with many hotels, guesthouses and rooms to rent in all categories.
Restaurants, fish taverns, ouzeries, snack bars and other places where you can feast yourself to your heart's content offer a wide choice of tastes for every visitor.
Many cafes, cafe-bars, refreshment bars, clubs and discos are there to take care of your pleasure and entertainment for the night. Every type of shop is available and you can purchase whatever you need in the many different shops at your disposal.
Situated 25 kilometres from Katerini, with easy access from the National Motorway E75 (Junction: Leptokarya) and the railway (Station: Leptokarya).
This is a wide, sandy beach, located in front of the homonymous settlement. The area is full of restaurants, bars and facilities of water sports. It is connected to the beach Flogita.
Loutra Agias Paraskevis: Beautiful, sandy and quiet beach, 2km, away from the village of Agia Paraskevi, with the homonymous thermal baths. It has small taverns.
⇠ Thessaloniki 110km ⇠ Polygyros 72km
Agia (Saint) Paraskevi is located in the inland of Kassandra, surrounded by a pinewood. It was named after the church of Agia Paraskevi, which is situated in the village. The Agia (Saint), as the habitants call the village, has a rich historical tradition and it was ruined three times by the Ottoman conquerors -the last one was in 1821. The visitor has the chance to wander around the peaceful alleys of the village and escape through beautiful routes that are traced in the woods.
The village is best known for its healing springs, whose sulphur-rich waters are believed to help in curing various ailments. The spa is 5km outside the village. Facilities include pools, saunas, steam baths, showers, hydromassage, for individuals and groups. The spa provides treatment and rejuvenation, a relief from the stress of a fast-paced modern lifestyle. All offered within a superb environment, with medical advice and support available. Information H +30 23740 71358 & 71810 fax: +30 23740 61439
✓ can’t miss this!
The springs of the spas are located in small caves in the rocks along the coast. The visitor can descend by a steep cement stairway.
Wide, sandy and fully organised beach, in front of the homonymous village. During summertime it gathers crowds of visitors. It has all kinds of restaurants, bars and facilities for all water sports.
⇠ Thessaloniki 104km ⇠ Polygyros 67km
Pefkochori is a quaint village, with pedestrian promenades, squares and gardens. The village gets its name from its pine forest (pefko means pine), which is an ideal place for a walk around nature. Also known as Kapsohora, Pefkochori was the site of the ancient city of Neapolis. A densely populated village with a cosmopolitan atmosphere, it has excellent hotels and rented rooms. Along the coast road and throughout the little streets the visitor can find a great variety of restaurants, bars, patisseries, supermarkets and souvenir shops.
• About 4.5km from the village there is a road leading to Glarokavos, a beautiful lagoon.
• Following the road from Pefkochori to Nea Skioni, there is the male Monastery of St. John the Russian (Agios Ioannis Rossos).
• The old parish church, built in the middle of the 19th century.
Perhaps the most beautiful beach of Sithonia. White, thin sand, turquoise waters. Small and quiet beach.
The sandy beach of Ouranoupolis begins from Tripiti and reaches up to the village. Along the shore there are many hotels as well as facilities for all kinds of water sports.
⇠ Thessaloniki 139km ⇠ Polygyros 64km
Another village built by refugees from the Marmaronisia islands and Caesarea, just after 1924. The land was owned by the Vatopediou Monastery as early as 1018 and was known as Prosforion. It was named Ouranoupolis in 1946, to commemorate the ancient city which once stood nearby. The main gateway to Mt. Athos, Ouranoupolis is now a busy towm resort with large hotels (2-3km outside the city center), rented rooms, small guesthouses, cafes, bars, restaurants, folk art shops, etc.
• “Prosforios” Tower, the symbol of Ouranoupolis, which is a high imposing Byzantine tower, built in 1344.
• The Frangocastro (Frankish Castle or Monastery of Zygos), on the border of Mount Athos, a building dating back in the time of the Frankish Domination (9th century).
• The guardhouse of Mount Athos.
• Mount Athos. A cruise with the ferry boat around Athos peninsula is a “must” for every visitor of Ouranoupolis.
• The Drenia islands: a collection of uninhabited rocks bathing it the mid-day sun. A paradise of lonely coves and golden beaches. The larger island is called “The Donkey Island” after its only inhabitants. there. Drenia are just 2 miles from the coast of Ouranoupolis, near Ammouliani island.
✓ can’t miss this!
Easter in Ouranoupolis is celebrated with great reverence and the Epitaphs are real masterpieces
Small sandy beach, in front of the homonymous village. There are taverns and cafeterias.
⇠ Thessaloniki 130km ⇠ Polygyros 55km
The village was built at the narrowest point of the Athos peninsula, where Xerxes had a channel dug in 480BC to allow his great fleet to pass. Nea Roda is the largest of all the refugee villages of northern Halkidiki, founded immediately after the Asia Minor catastrophe at the location known as Provlakas, by forty refugee families. It is now a resort town with a fine beach, hotels and camping sites, bars and tavernas.
The channel was 12 stades in length (about 2,900m) and was wide enough to fit two triremes. It can just barely be made out today but it will be reformed soon.
✓ can’t miss this!
Admire the sunset while walking around
the beautiful village
⇠ Thessaloniki 138km ⇠ Polygyros 76km
The rocky peninsula proves that Toroni has been inhabited continuously since Neolithic times. This was one of the most important cities in ancient Halkidiki, which was destroyed in the 6th century AD by raiding barbarians. Traces of a prehistoric settlement have also been found here. The beach of Toroni extends to over 2km in length.
• On the Lykithos headland stood the second acropolis of Toroni, and the remains of a Byzantine fort can still be seen, probably destroyed during the Ottoman occupation.
• The early Christian temple dedicated to Agios Athanassios (St Athanassios). It was built in the 5th century and is a three-nave basilica. A fire destroyed it in the 6th century and another temple was built on its foundations, which was also destroyed later. The mosaic of the middle nave is still preserved today.
✓ can’t miss this!
The Iron Age cemetery (11th century BC) where 134 tombs have been excavated and 500 fully preserved artefacts came to light.
A beach with golden sand, awarded the European Blue Flag, at the foot of Olympus.
The historically interesting old settlement of Ano Skotina is nearby where houses built of stone dating from the 17th and 18th century can be found. You can visit the church of Agios Athanasios (14th century) with its unique wooden reredos and the church of Koimiseos Theotokos (1862), which is in the square of the village.
There is plentiful accommodation for the visitor with hotels, rooms to rent, campsites and the Greek Tourist Organisation campsite, which is one of the biggest in the Balkans. In the summer this is home to the new Balkan Music Festival with concerts, performances of dance and modern art.
The restaurants and hotels, ouzeries and snack bars, as well as other facilities for your relaxation will take care of all your gastronomic needs.
Situated 32 kilometres from Katerini, it is easily accessible from the National Motorway E75 (Junction: Skotina) and the railway (Station: Skotina).
The coast of Pieria is unique because of the vast expanses of sandy beaches that you can find there.
They extend for over 70 kms. from the resort of Nei Pori, skirting the fringes of the mythical slopes of Mount Olympus, right up to the village of Methoni and the wetlands surrounding the mouth of the River Aliakmonas.
Wide beaches of unspoilt natural beauty, with rich golden stretches of sand interspersed with pebbles and cool groves of pine, lead down to the peaceful blue waters of the warm inviting sea.
Here all the tourists needs are catered for: a cosmopolitan environment and a vibrant nightlife, a unique and complete summer resort with easy and safe access which offers visitors the opportunity to take in all the historical, ecological, rural and cultural sights of the county.
Vina: Beautiful sandy beach, next to the peninsula Liotopi, after Stratoni.
⇠ Thessaloniki 111km ⇠ Polygyros 63km
Stratoni, a coastal village built in the gulf
of Ierissos, numbers today approximately 1000 residents. In this region, ruins of the Roman Period have been found. The foundation of Stratoni as a constituted settlement dates back to the mid 19th century but has always had an unbreakable tie with the mining activity.
In 1932 the village was extensively damaged by an earthquake. In the following years, the village was almost entirely rebuilt from the start.
An ancient war memorial, which was found in the region (1st century b.c.) presenting impressive statues, tomb, vessels, e.t.c, indicates the position were the city Stratonikia flourished. From this, two statues clearly stand out, a man’s and a woman’s (the woman has been named “Lady of Stratoni”), which can be admired in the Museum of Polygyros.
✓ can’t miss this!
The cultural events that the residence of Stratoniki organize, such as: Carnival festival, St Varvara’s feast which lasts 5 days (in beginning of December)